Monday, June 17, 2013

2013 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards Shortlists

Prime Minister Julia Gillard and Arts Minister Tony Burke today announced the 2013 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards shortlists.

Now in their sixth year, the 2013 shortlists recognise the best in Australian fiction, poetry, non-fiction, history, young adult and children’s fiction published in 2012.

From children’s books that excel in the art of storytelling, through to revealing works of non-fiction and history, the 2013 shortlists represent the breadth and depth of the Australian story, and imagination.

The Prime Minister and Minister commended the quality and diversity of entries, noting the evolving richness of Australia’s literary sector.

2013 also saw the poetry, the newest Award category firmly established, receiving 65 entries, a significant increase on 2012 entries.

A total of $595,000 will be awarded in six Award categories, making the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards the richest literary awards in Australia.

A tax free prize of $80,000 will be awarded to the winner of each of the award categories. Shortlisted entries receive $5,000 tax free.

The 2013 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards shortlists are:

Fiction shortlist

Floundering by Romy Ash

The Chemistry of Tears by Peter Carey

Questions of Travel by Michelle de Kretser

Lost Voices by Christopher Koch

Mateship with Birds by Carrie Tiffany

Poetry shortlist

Burning Rice by Eileen Chong

The Sunlit Zone by Lisa Jacobson

Jam Tree Gully: Poems by John Kinsella

Liquid Nitrogen byJennifer Maiden

Crimson Crop by Peter Rose

Non-fiction shortlist

Bradman’s War by Malcolm Knox

Uncommon Soldier by Chris Masters

Plein Airs and Graces by Adrian Mitchell

The Australian Moment by George Megalogenis

Bold Palates by Barbara Santich

Prize for Australian History shortlist
The Sex Lives of Australians: A History by Frank Bongiorno

Sandakan byPaul Ham

Gough Whitlam by Jenny Hocking

Farewell, dear people by Ross McMullin

The Censor’s Library by Nicole Moore

More information on the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards can be found at