Literary awards and prizes

ASAL book of the year
The Association for the Study of Australian Literature gives this award annually.

The Australian Aurealis Award was created to celebrate science fiction, fantasty and horror writers.

Australian/Vogel Literary Award
is awarded to an unpublished manuscript for an author under 35 years.  The award is given by publisher Allen and Unwin who then publishes the awarding novel.  Past winners include Tim Winton, Kate Grenville, Gillian Mears and Andrew McGann.

The BAILEYS women's prize for Fiction 
supports and awards full length fiction novels written by women anywhere in the world. Previously called the Women's prize for fiction, the Orange prize for fiction and the Orange Broadband Prize for fiction.

book award promotes UK and Irish authors.  There are prizes for debut novels, novels, poetry and children's books.

Davitt Awards for crime fiction  
is awarded by Sisters in Crime who named the award after Ellen Davitt (1812 - 1879) who wrote the first Australian mystery novel in 1865.  

The Goldsmith's Prize 
is awarded by the University of London and aims to promote highly creative and innovative fiction.  It is awarded to a novel that embodies the ideas of invention and uniqueness. 

Goodreads best of 2014.  With many different categories and books selected by readers just like you, this is an extensive list which also has links to reviews.

The Indie book of the year 

Locus magazine award

Man Booker Prize

Miles Franklin

The MUBAs are for the Most Underrated Book of the Year presented by the Small Press Network.

National biography award 

The British National book award  has some great titles and with 11 different categories it covers a wide range of books including Audiobooks, children's book, biographies, crime and thrillers, popular non-fiction, and popular fiction.

Ned Kelly Award for crime fiction and true crime.

The Prime Minister's Literary Awards recognises excellent Australian literature and has been awarded since 2008.  

The Queensland Literary Awards
is not limited to Queensland authors or settings this award celebrates Australian writing.

Readings prize for new Australian writing 

Stella Prize

Victorian Premier's Literary Award 

No comments:

Post a Comment